Uncategorized · wrap up

December 2015 Wrap Up

 

 wrapup-01Considering December is one hell of a busy month, I am really proud of the books and graphic novels that I was able to read this month! What did you read during the month of December? Here’s to a wonderful New Year of reading!


 

77113_originalA Court of Thorns and Roses

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Fairytale Retelling

Release Date: May 5th 2015

Format: eBook

Page Count: 416

ISBN: 9781619634442

Goodreads synopsis: When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world. As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever. Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

My Review


 

91bldt8cbtl

Through The Woods


Author:
Emily Carroll

Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books

Genre: Graphic Novel, Horror, Short Stories

Release Date: July 15th 2014

Format: Paperback

Page Count: 208

ISBN: 9781442465961

Goodreads synopsis: Five mysterious, spine-tingling stories follow journeys into (and out of?) the eerie abyss. These chilling tales spring from the macabre imagination of acclaimed and award-winning comic creator Emily Carroll. Come take a walk in the woods and see what awaits you there…

My Review


 

nimona-by-noelle-stevensonNimona


Author:
Noelle Stevenson

Publisher: HarperCollins

Genre: Graphic Novel, Fantasy

Release Date: May 12th 2015

Format: Hardcover

Page Count: 272

ISBN: 9780062278234

Goodreads synopsis: The graphic novel debut from rising star Noelle Stevenson, based on her beloved and critically acclaimed web comic, which Slate awarded its Cartoonist Studio Prize, calling it “a deadpan epic.” Nemeses! Dragons! Science! Symbolism! All these and more await in this brilliantly subversive, sharply irreverent epic from Noelle Stevenson. Featuring an exclusive epilogue not seen in the web comic, along with bonus conceptual sketches and revised pages throughout, this gorgeous full-color graphic novel is perfect for the legions of fans of the web comic and is sure to win Noelle many new ones. Nimona is an impulsive young shapeshifter with a knack for villainy. Lord Ballister Blackheart is a villain with a vendetta. As sidekick and supervillain, Nimona and Lord Blackheart are about to wreak some serious havoc. Their mission: prove to the kingdom that Sir Ambrosius Goldenloin and his buddies at the Institution of Law Enforcement and Heroics aren’t the heroes everyone thinks they are. But as small acts of mischief escalate into a vicious battle, Lord Blackheart realizes that Nimona’s powers are as murky and mysterious as her past. And her unpredictable wild side might be more dangerous than he is willing to admit.

My Review


23677341

We Are The Ants

Author: Shaun David Hutchinson

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Canada

Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction, LGBTQ+

Release Date: January 19th 2016

Format: ARC

Page Count: 304

ISBN: 9781481449632

Goodreads synopsis: Henry Denton doesn’t know why the aliens chose to abduct him when he was thirteen, and he doesn’t know why they continue to steal him from his bed and take him aboard their ship. He doesn’t know why the world is going to end or why the aliens have offered him the opportunity to avert the impending disaster by pressing a big red button. But they have. And they’ve only given him 144 days to make up his mind. Since the suicide of his boyfriend, Jesse, Henry has been adrift. He’s become estranged from his best friend, started hooking up with his sworn enemy, and his family is oblivious to everything that’s going on around them. As far as Henry is concerned, a world without Jesse is a world he isn’t sure is worth saving. Until he meets Diego Vega, an artist with a secret past who forces Henry to question his beliefs, his place in the universe, and whether any of it really matters. But before Henry can save the world, he’s got to figure out how to save himself, and the aliens haven’t given him a button for that.

My Review


everything-everything1-e1441301042528

Everything, Everything

Author: Nicola Yoon

Publisher: Double Day Canada

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary

Release Date: September 1st 2015

Format: Hardcover

Page Count: 306

ISBN: 9780385683654

Goodreads synopsis: My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla. But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly. Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

My Review


4662936-campmidnight_by_steven_t-_seagle_artist_jason_adam_rgbCamp Midnight

Author: Steven T. Seagle, Illustrator: Jason Katzenstein

Publisher: Image Comics

Genre: Graphic Novel, Humor, Horror

Release Date: May 3rd 2016

Format: eBook/ARC

Page Count: 248

ISBN: 9781632155559

Goodreads synopsis: Ben 10 and Big Hero 6 creator Steven T. Seagle returns to comics with New Yorker Magazine cartoonist Jason Adam Katzenstein for a new graphic novel! Reluctant Skye is accidentally sent to the wrong summer camp. Not wanting to please her step monster, Skye is dead-set on not fitting in. That won’t be a problem, as everyone at Camp Midnight-with the exception of fellow camper and fast-friend Mia-is a full-fledged monster! The perfect book for fans of Raina Telgemeier’s Smile, but wish it had more bowls of gooey eyeballs.”

My Review (Coming Soon)


2 thoughts on “December 2015 Wrap Up

  1. I thought Everything Everything had a good twist in the end but I was a little disappointed how it all played out. I didn’t think the trip they took was good for the twist development, and would have prefered a smaller act of rebellion from the main character. Still, it was a very unique story that I read like in a day or so. 😀

    A Court of Thorns and Roses should be my reread for next year I think.. it was just so good! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know what you mean about Everything, Everything. I usually do like twists but I just didn’t particularly enjoy this one. Maybe it had to do with the way things played out as you mentioned. Something just felt off to me. I did really enjoy a Court of Thorns and Roses! I’m excited for the sequel!! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s