books · fun stuff · hauls · march 2015

March 2015 Book Haul (Non-Thrifted Books)

Hello everyone! I still managed to buy quite a few brand new books even though I should probably take it easy until my TBR pile shrinks.


MARCH 2015 BOOK HAUL (Non-Thrifted Books)

Mosquitoland by David Arnold

All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Arstotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

Half Wild (Half Bad #2) by Sally Green

One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest by Ken Kesey

The Hand That Feeds You by A.J. Rich (ARC)

Where They Found Here by Kimberly McCreight (ARC)


Mosquitoland 

Author: David Arnold

Publisher: Viking Children’s

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Road Trip, Quirky

Release Date: March 3rd 2015

Page Count: 336

Format: Hardcover

ISBN: 9780451470775

Goodreads Synopsis: “I am a collection of oddities, a circus of neurons and electrons: my heart is the ringmaster, my soul is the trapeze artist, and the world is my audience. It sounds strange because it is, and it is, because I am strange.” After the sudden collapse of her family, Mim Malone is dragged from her home in northern Ohio to the “wastelands” of Mississippi, where she lives in a medicated milieu with her dad and new stepmom. Before the dust has a chance to settle, she learns her mother is sick back in Cleveland. So she ditches her new life and hops aboard a northbound Greyhound bus to her real home and her real mother, meeting a quirky cast of fellow travelers along the way. But when her thousand-mile journey takes a few turns she could never see coming, Mim must confront her own demons, redefining her notions of love, loyalty, and what it means to be sane. Told in an unforgettable, kaleidoscopic voice, “Mosquitoland” is a modern American odyssey, as hilarious as it is heartbreaking.

Buy on Book Depository


All The Bright Places 

Author: Jennifer Niven

Publisher: Knopf

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Mental Health

Release Date: January 6th 2015

Page Count: 388

Format: Hardcover

ISBN: 9780385755887

Goodreads Synopsis: Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him. Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death. When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink. This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.

Buy on Book Depository


Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secret of the Universe

Author: Benjamin Alire Sáenz

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, LGBTQ

Release Date: February 21st 2012

Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781442408920

Goodreads Synopsis: Aristotle is an angry teen with a brother in prison. Dante is a know-it-all who has an unusual way of looking at the world. When the two meet at the swimming pool, they seem to have nothing in common. But as the loners start spending time together, they discover that they share a special friendship—the kind that changes lives and lasts a lifetime. And it is through this friendship that Ari and Dante will learn the most important truths about themselves and the kind of people they want to be.

Buy on Book Depository


Half Wild (Half Bad #2)

Author: Sally Green

Publisher: Viking Juvenlie

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Witches

Release Date: March 24th 2015

Page Count: 400

Format: Hardcover

ISBN: 9780670017133

Goodreads Synopsis: “You will have a powerful Gift, but it’s how you use it that will show you to be good or bad.” In a modern-day England where two warring factions of witches live amongst humans, seventeen-year-old Nathan is an abomination, the illegitimate son of the world’s most powerful and violent witch. Nathan is hunted from all sides: nowhere is safe and no one can be trusted. Now, Nathan has come into his own unique magical Gift, and he’s on the run–but the Hunters are close behind, and they will stop at nothing until they have captured Nathan and destroyed his father.

Buy on Book Depository


One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest (50th Anniversary Edition)

Author: Ken Kesey

Publisher: Viking

Genre: Classics, Literature, Fiction, Mental Health

Release Date: January 19th 2012 (first published 1962)

Page Count: 277

Format: Hardcover

ISBN: 9780670023233

Goodreads Synopsis: A fiftieth-anniversary edition of Ken Kesey’s searing American classic. Boisterous, ribald, and ultimately shattering, Ken Kesey’s One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest has left an indelible mark on the literature of our time. Turning conventional notions of sanity and insanity on their heads, the novel tells the unforgettable story of a mental ward and its inhabitants, especially tyrannical Big Nurse Ratched and Randle Patrick McMurphy, the brawling, fun-loving new inmate who resolves to oppose her. We see the story through the eyes of Chief Bromden, the seemingly mute half-Indian patient who witnesses and understands McMurphy’s heroic attempt to do battle with the powers that keep them all imprisoned. Hailed upon its publication as “a glittering parable of good and evil” (The New York Times Book Review) and “a roar of protest against middlebrow society’s Rules and the invisible Rulers who enforce them” (Time), Kesey’s powerful book went on to sell millions of copies and remains as bracing and insightful today as when it was first released. This new deluxe hardcover edition commemorates the fiftieth anniversary of the original publication of the novel on February 1, 1962, and will be a must have for any literature lover.

Buy on Book Depository


The Hand That Feeds You (Gifted by Publisher for Review)

Author: A.J. Rich

Publisher: Scribner (Simon and Schuster Canada)

Genre: Fiction, Psychological Thriller

Release Date: July 7th 2015

Page Count: 288

Format: Paperback ARC

ISBN: 9781476774589

Goodreads Synopsis: From celebrated authors Amy Hempel and Jill Ciment writing as A.J. Rich, a smart, thrilling, sexy, and emotionally riveting novel of psychological suspense about an accomplished woman involved with a man who proves to be an imposter. Morgan Prager, at age thirty, is completing her thesis on victim psychology at John Jay College of Criminal Justice in Manhattan. She is newly engaged to Bennett, a seductive but possessive and secretive man. She returns from class one day to find Bennett mauled to death, and her dogs, Great Pyrenees and two pit bulls she has rescued, covered in blood. Bewildered and devastated that her dogs could have committed such violence, she worries that she might suffer from one of the syndromes she studies: pathological altruism, when selfless acts do more damage than good. When Morgan tries to locate Bennett’s parents to tell them about their son’s hideous death, she discovers he was not the man he said he was. Everything he has told her, where he was born, where he lives and works, was a lie. In fact, he has several fiancees, and fits the clinical definition of a sociopath. And then, one by one, these other women are murdered. Suddenly Morgan’s research into Bennett takes on the urgency of survival: to stay alive, she must find out who is killing the women Bennett was closest to. Unsettling and highly suspenseful, this is a brilliant collaboration between two outstanding writers.


Where They Found Her (Gifted by Publisher for Review)

Author: Kimberly McCreight

Publisher: HarperCollins Canada

Genre: Fiction, Psychological Thriller

Release Date: April 14th 2015

Page Count: 336

Format: Paperback ARC

ISBN: 9780062225467

Goodreads Synopsis: From the author of the New York Times bestseller and 2014 Edgar and Anthony nominee Reconstructing Amelia comes another harrowing, gripping novel that marries psychological suspense with an emotionally powerful story about a community struggling with the consequences of a devastating discovery. At the end of a long winter, in bucolic Ridgedale, New Jersey, the body of an infant is discovered in the woods near the town’s prestigious university campus. No one knows who the baby is, or how her body ended up out there. But there is no shortage of opinions. When freelance journalist, and recent Ridgedale transplant, Molly Anderson is unexpectedly called upon to cover the story for the Ridegdale Reader, it’s a risk, given the severe depression that followed the loss of her own baby. But the bigger threat comes when Molly unearths some of Ridgedale’s darkest secrets, including a string of unreported sexual assaults that goes back twenty years. Meanwhile, Sandy, a high school dropout, searches for her volatile and now missing mother, and PTA president Barbara struggles to help her young son, who’s suddenly having disturbing outbursts. Told from the perspectives of Molly, Barbara, and Sandy, Kimberly McCreight’s taut and profoundly moving novel unwinds the tangled truth about the baby’s death revealing that these three women have far more in common than they realized. And that their lives are more intertwined with what happened to the baby than they ever could have imagined.


Also, check out my March Thrifted Book Haul.


2 thoughts on “March 2015 Book Haul (Non-Thrifted Books)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s