books · pop culture · tbr · wrap ups

February Wrap Up + March TBR (Books)

February is coming to a close and that means it’s time to talk about the books that I read during the month. My usual goal is to read five books a month. I’m still struggling to finish the fifth and unfortunately will not finish it by the end of the month. But hey, four isn’t that bad! After I discuss the books that I read this month, I will go through the five books that I hope to read during the month of March.

Books I read in February 2015

-3

  • Red Rising by Pierce Brown
  • The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin
  • The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins
  • Fan Art by Sarah Tregay (ebook)

For my review of Red Rising by Pierce Brown click here.

For my review of The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin click here or here.

For my review of The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins click here.

For my review of Fan Art by Sarah Tregay click here or here.

I did not finish my 5th pick, The First Stone by Don Aker, but I should be finishing it within the next day or two.


For those who are unaware, TBR stands for “to be read”. Here are mt goals for the books I would like to read during the month of March.

March TBR

-4

  • A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness
  • The Duff by Kody Keplinger
  • The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey
  • Mosquitoland by David Arnold *
  • All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven *

* = just ordered these two, but I haven’t received them in the mail just yet.

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness (Goodreads synopsis): The monster showed up after midnight. As they do. But it isn’t the monster Conor’s been expecting. He’s been expecting the one from his nightmare, the one he’s had nearly every night since his mother started her treatments, the one with the darkness and the wind and the screaming…This monster is something different, though. Something ancient, something wild. And it wants the most dangerous thing of all from Conor. It wants the truth.

The Duff by Kody Keplinger (Goodreads synopsis): Seventeen-year-old Bianca Piper is cynical and loyal, and she doesn’t think she’s the prettiest of her friends by a long shot. She’s also way too smart to fall for the charms of man-slut and slimy school hottie Wesley Rush. In fact, Bianca hates him. And when he nicknames her “the Duff,” she throws her Coke in his face. But things aren’t so great at home right now, and Bianca is desperate for a distraction. She ends up kissing Wesley. Worse, she likes it. Eager for escape, Bianca throws herself into a closeted enemies-with-benefits relationship with him. Until it all goes horribly awry. It turns out Wesley isn’t such a bad listener, and his life is pretty screwed up, too. Suddenly Bianca realizes with absolute horror that she’s falling for the guy she thought she hated more than anyone.

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey (Goodreads synopsis): After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one. Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother—or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.

Mosquitoland by David Arnold (Goodreads synopsis): “I am a collection of oddities, a circus of neurons and electrons: my heart is the ringmaster, my soul is the trapeze artist, and the world is my audience. It sounds strange because it is, and it is, because I am strange.” After the sudden collapse of her family, Mim Malone is dragged from her home in northern Ohio to the “wastelands” of Mississippi, where she lives in a medicated milieu with her dad and new stepmom. Before the dust has a chance to settle, she learns her mother is sick back in Cleveland.  So she ditches her new life and hops aboard a northbound Greyhound bus to her real home and her real mother, meeting a quirky cast of fellow travelers along the way. But when her thousand-mile journey takes a few turns she could never see coming, Mim must confront her own demons, redefining her notions of love, loyalty, and what it means to be sane. Told in an unforgettable, kaleidoscopic voice, “Mosquitoland” is a modern American odyssey, as hilarious as it is heartbreaking.

All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven (Goodreads synopsis): The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die. Soon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning! Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him. Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death. When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink. This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven


Hopefully I actually get around to reading all of my picks for this month!

Thanks for reading!

One thought on “February Wrap Up + March TBR (Books)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s